Appendix J Association of NSW Club Champion – The Barry Seton Trophy

Barry Seton is a Bathurst legend. He won the Armstrong 500 in 1965 driving the famous Ford Cortina GT500 and came second the year before with Herb Taylor in the same car.

Barry raced at Bathurst 22 times between 1963 and 1984, all in succession, and finished 15 of them.

Barry experienced class success at Mt Panorama in 1976, 1977 and 1980 (in the famous V6 Capri).

This Award is Barry Seton's AMSCAR trophy. The AMSCAR Series was a series for touring cars, created by Amaroo Park's promoters, the Australian Racing Drivers Club and staged annually from 1982 to 1993.

Barry won the AMSCAR series in 1975, 1979 and 1980.

This HTCA NSW Award is allocated annually to the competitor who gained the most points in a season across all three historic racing categories.

Appendix J Association of NSW Sportsmanship Award - The Bob Asher Memorial

This Award is named after Bob Asher, an original member of the HTCA NSW, who gave a major contribution to the Club in the conduct and organisation of the Club, and to the Historic racing category, together with his contribution as a competitor, in a Mini and in a Valiant Pacer.

The Bob Asher Award is presented annually to a Club member who has displayed excellence in a sportsmanlike manner.

Brian Muir Trophy (Appendix J Group Nb Drivers Champion)

Brian Muir trained as a motor mechanic in Sydney. He first tasted motor sport at the age of 19 when he entered his Alvis 12/50 in a night trial. He became a regular rally competitor, won a local championship title in 1956, and a year later took part in his first race, driving an Austin A30 at Bathurst.

In 1964 he won the Class A category of the Armstrong 500 in a Holden EH Special S4.

In 1965 he finished third overall in the Australian Touring Car Championship. 1965, driving a Holden EH Special S4.

In 1968 he and he won the 1000 km Catalunya in 1968. In that same year, he finished as runner-up in the British Saloon Car Championship driving a Ford Falcon behind fellow Australian Frank Gardner. Two years later he finished third in the BTCC, following up that result with a victory in the RAC Tourist Trophy, the longest running and one of the most prestigious prizes in international motorsport. He drove a Chevrolet Camaro to the checkered flag, making him the first Australian to claim the trophy.

In 1973, he finished runner-up in the European Touring Car Championship in 1973.

He also regularly competed in the 24 Hours of Le Mans driving alongside the likes of Jackie Oliver, Graham Hill and Jacky Ickx.

The Brian Muir Trophy is the Pit Board used during the 1964-10965 season of racing. This Pit Board was discovered by Bob Asher, and donated to the HTCA NSW by Brian.

The Brian Muir Trophy is presented annually to the Club member who has gained the most points in a season for the racing group Nb, production type touring cars manufactured prior to 31 December 1964.

Mark Broadhead Memorial Trophy

Mark Broadhead was a member of the HTCA NSW for many years.

He successfully campaigned in a Morris Cooper S.

Mark provided significant support to the HTCA NSW, even through difficult personal times, when, in 2016, a fire destroyed more than 10 vintage cars, including his own racing car.

Mark passed away in 2017 at the age of 46 years.

The Mark Broadhead Award is presented annually to a Competitor/Club member who has made a significant contribution to the HTCA NSW.

Appendix J Association of NSW President's Trophy

The President's Trophy is presented annually to a Competitor/Club member who has displayed outstanding sportsmanship, Club commitment and has made a significant contribution to Group N motorsport.

Appendix J Association of NSW Encouragement Award

The Encouragement Award is presented annually to a Competitor/Club member who has shown significant potential and has continued to compete, despite adversity.